Recording Fees

Whitman County Auditor Recording & Filing Fee Schedule


EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2024:

House Bill 1474, which was passed by the Washington State Legislature in this 2023 session, will require a new fee of $100 (per recording) to create a “covenant homeownership account and program.” This new fee will become effective on January 1, 2024. The aim of this program is to address the history of housing discrimination caused by racially restrictive real estate covenants in Washington state.

 

The Whitman County Auditor's office is responsible for implementing and collecting fees for legal recordings within our jurisdiction. Therefore, an additional $100 fee will be required for most recordings, effective January 1, 2024.


Effective July 1, 2024

Standard Fee:

            First Page  ............................................................................................................ $303.50

            Each Additional Page............................................................................................... $1.00

Deed of Trust:

            First Page.............................................................................................................. $304.50

            Each Additional Page .............................................................................................. $1.00

Multiple Transaction Documents:

            First Transaction (except exceptions listed below) ........................................ $303.50

            Each Additional Transaction Title ..................................................................... $303.50

            Each Additional Page............................................................................................... $1.00

UCC Filings (National Form Accepted)

            First Page ............................................................................................................. $303.50

            Multiple Transaction Filings (for each transaction)................................................. $303.50

            Termination Filings .............................................................................................. $303.50

            Each Additional Page .............................................................................................. $1.00

 

Exceptions to First Page Normal Fee:

            

            Name Change...........................................................................................................$203.50

            Federal Liens and Releases.................................................................................... $16.00

            Assignment of Deed of Trust.................................................................................... $18.00

            Resignation & Appointment of Successor Trustee................................................... $18.00

            Appointment of Trustee and Substitution of Trustee................................................. $18.00

            Wage Liens & Releases........................................................................................... $18.00

            Water-Sewer District Liens & Releases..................................................................... $18.00

            Employment Security Liens & Releases.................................................................... $15.00

            Birth/Death Certificates ............................................................................................. $18.00

            State, County & City Liens & Releases ................................................................... $18.00

            Each Additional Page to any of these documents..................................................... $1.00

 

Non Standard Documents:

            Signed Coversheet is required and a $50.00 fee in addition to normal recording fees.


Report of Military Separation Documents:

            DD 214 ................................................................................................................... No Fee

            Request for Exemption from Public Disclosure................................................... $7.00

            Request for Disclosure of Discharge ................................................................. No Fee

            Revocation & Re-Designation of Discharge ..................................................... No Fee

            Request for Access/Copy of Exempt Discharge.............................................  No Fee

Plats – Surveys -BLAs

            Plat 1st Page ......................................................................................................... $423.50

                     Each Additional Page  .................................................................................................. $5.00

            Surveys 1st Page ................................................................................................... $423.50

                     Each Additional Page  .................................................................................................. $5.00

            Boundary Line Adjustment ………............………………………………….……….. $403.50

                     Each Additional Page  .................................................................................................. $1.00

            

County Issued Licenses

Marriage License ............................................................................................................... $44.00

Process Server .................................................................................................................. $10.00

Process Server licenses MUST be renewed YEARLY.

 

Copy Requests and Miscellaneous Fees:

Certified Copy 1st Page ....................................................................................................... $3.00

Regular Copy 1st Page ........................................................................................................ $1.00

            Each Additional Page .............................................................................................. $1.00

Search of Records (Per Hour – 1 hour minimum) ............................................................... $8.00

 

 

Recording fees are set by the Washington State Legislature and are codified in Chapters 36.18 and 36.22 of the Revised Code of Washington (RCW).