Any individual who has a developmental disability that starts before age 18, results in a substantial handicap, and is expected to continue indefinitely may be eligible for developmental disability services.

Eligibility Definition

To be considered a person with a developmental disability and to become eligible for services, a person must have at least one of the following conditions:

  • Autism
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Developmental Delay (ages birth to 6)
  • Epilepsy
  • Mental Retardation
  • Another neurological condition or other conditions similar to mental retardation

Young children who show a developmental delay may also be eligible for services. Adults can become eligible for services if their disability occurred before age 18, regardless of their current age. Evidence must be submitted to be determined eligible.